The Satisfaction of Finishing Socks


After a weekend of doing–no exaggeration–about 12 loads of laundry after the kids returned from camp, I was happy to steal an hour of knitting time while watching a favorite HBO Show, “Big Love.” I finished my Ridged Feather Socks–the first pair I’ve made from start to finish during “Summer of Socks,” and I am very pleased with them.
I know some people prefer to match up the colors on variegated yarns like this so that the stripes are the same colors in the same placement on both feet, but I rather like the fact that mine don’t synch up at all–that really shows that they’re handmade, and I like the one-of-a-kind feel of them.

I have more of a skein left than I usually do with yarns like Socks that Rock, so I am thinking about eking out a pair of baby socks for Afghans for Afghans with the remainder…but that will have to wait.

For now, I will excitedly wind up my STR Monsoon to make my honey his first pair of hand-knit socks. Having just gotten More Sensational Knitted Socks, I may try a pair from there, or the Cable Ribs from Favorite Socks…so many choices, and he is leaving the design up to me!

One response to “The Satisfaction of Finishing Socks”

  1. Riggwelter says :

    your socks look lovely

    Like

Leave a Reply

