New Year Enthusiasm

Maybe it’s the fact that New Year’s Day fell on a Tuesday, making last week a short week, but I’ve felt that I’ve had more knitting time lately, and it feels great.

I received my finished Gatsby Girl Pullover back from Rene at Knits Finished, and she did an amazing job sewing this together.
I still like to finish my own projects whenever I can, but all of the crocheting and hemming involved in this one scared me.
The sweater is very form-fitting and I love it, I just hope it looks flattering.
I have about three skeins of the Rowan Cashsoft DK left, so I’m trying to figure out what to do with that–maybe a scarf, or a pair of wrist-warmers, mittens or gloves. Any ideas?

With holiday gifts behind me, I got back to my Retro Redux Shrug and will probably finish it tonight. This was a really fun and quick knit, and the Debbie Bliss Cashmerino Aran is so soft and a lovely yarn to knit up. I’d love to use it again. I will use almost all four skeins for this project, so probably won’t have the opportunity to make anything with the remains, perhaps a headband from 101 Designer One Skein Wonders, one of my new favorite books!

Another book I bought before the holidays and have been loving is Clara Parkes’ The Knitter’s Book of Yarn. I loved all of the up-front information about origins and uses of all the different types of yarn, and the patterns are wonderful. I’ve already tagged about 10 that I want to make, and I’m not even halfway through the patterns section!

Back to the shrug–hopefully FO pictures of that later this week! Then, the big decision is what to make next: a pullover or cardigan from the Naturally Noro Book using Noro Silk Garden I’ve had for over a year, or a shawl with my stashed Sublime Mohair…such decisions!

3 responses to “New Year Enthusiasm”

  1. Grace says :

    I recieved The Knitter’s Book of Yarn for Christmas and love all the info and patterns too! I think you should make a pair of Dashing mitts or Arm Cozies (http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/cashmere-arm-cosies) from your left over three skeins.

    Like

  2. Ellen says :

    Your Gatsby is beautiful!

    Like

  3. Laura says :

    Your sweater is lovely and looks great on you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

