Lazy Days of Summer

After making the Clementine Shawlette in less than a month, I am now adjusting to the fact that my next major project, the Muse Wrap from “The Very Gorgeous Sublime Kid Mohair Book,” is going to take quite a bit of time! I cast on a week ago and after a few days and just 17 rows, I had to rip out the whole thing. Not an easy task with mohair, mind you. This is the type of project that is difficult to rip out a few stitches or part of a row, and I just hadn’t had the feel for the pattern, so there were mistakes every few rows. After casting on again, I feel that I really know the pattern and can tell as I knit across if I am making a mistake or on the right track, so frogging shouldn’t be necessary again (I HOPE!) I am now back to row 18, where I left off.

That’s the good news. The bad news is that this pattern is supposed to be 400 ROWS long! Since I am short, I expect that I won’t have to knit that many rows, but nevertheless, this will not be a quick project. It is also not the type of project that is easy to put down mid-row, so I think it will be strictly at-home knitting. The yarn does feel luscious, and the pattern is knitting up very pretty, so I know I’ll enjoy the finished product, it’s just far from an immediate gratification item!
This means my Saucy Socks are getting more attention–I’m about ready to turn the heel on the first one, and the Socks That Rock feels soooo nice as a contract to the fuzzy mohair–and I may even pick up my long-ago started Manos Four Seasons Afghan as another alterative, on-the-go project as well. The afghan isn’t even in my Ravelry projects, it’s that much of an afterthought at this point. I do hope to give it more attention, and the slow pace of the mohair may cause that to happen.

Leave a Reply

