Happy New Year!

Happy New Year to everyone! I thought I’d do a little recap of 2011 and make a few knitting resolutions for the coming year.
In 2011, I completed several projects of varying types, including 3 pair of socks (one long pair of boot socks for my daughter), one large afghan, my first argyle project–a vest for my son, several scarves and cowls, and many, many hats and headbands for my fledgling Etsy shop/school fundraising business. I am currently in the midst of knitting as many hats and headbands in my son’s school colors as I possibly can before a January 14th fundraising event. I’m not sure that I like putting my own projects aside to do so many hats and headbands exclusively, but I don’t think I will have to do that once I get this stockpile done. The only chance that I would have to keep up at this pace would be if lots of people want these items on the 14th, I sell everything I’ve got at the event and I end up taking orders to make after the event. After that, though, I should be free for my own pursuits and then whatever I sell on Etsy.

I have really enjoyed beginning to learn about knitting as a business. I would still love to find a way to make it work, but so far I can’t see this being a realistic only source of income. I do love seeing my daughter’s friends in their earflap hats and getting their wonderful notes and hugs of thanks for these ear-warming goodies!

Along with my current hat on the needles, I’m enjoing the Gap-tastic Cowl made of Malabrigo Chunky in the spectacular Velvet Grapes colorway. Hope to get back to some of my languishing projects (started in the summer) soon.

Wishing everyone a joyous, healthy New Year filled with happiness, peace, love and all that you wish for.

Leave a Reply

